WHO WE ARE

EXECUTIVE BOARD 2017-2018

Ethan Ake (Co-President): ethan.ake@tugsa.org

general-headshotEthan Ake is a fourth year Ph.D. student in Urban Education (College of Education) and concurrently enrolled in the Superintendent Letter of Eligibility program. He is a Research Assistant in the Office of the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies. This is his second year in TUGSA as well as serving as Co-President. Prior to his arrival at Temple, Ethan was a high school biology teacher for five years in the Greater Philadelphia area and aspires to become a K-12 school administrator.

 

Ingrid Johnson (Director of Organization): ingrid.johnson@tugsa.org

Ingrid Johnson is a seventh-year Doctoral Candidate and Research Assistant in the Department of Criminal Justice (College of Liberal Arts). She received her BA in Justice from the University of Alaska Fairbanks in 2010 and moved to Philadelphia to join Temple’s graduate community. Through doing service within her department and supporting TUGSA’s efforts for the past six years, she has deepened her appreciation for the importance of strong interpersonal relationships and investing in the success of colleagues. She hopes to bring that appreciation to the forefront of TUGSA’s work in the coming year as she serves as the Director of Organization. You can find her in Gladfelter 517, appointments recommended.

Colin Lauer (Treasurer):colin.lauer@tugsa.org

Colin Lauer is a 4th year Ph.D. student from the Physics Department. He works as an RA studying Computational Nuclear Particle Physics. This is Colin’s second time holding the position of Treasurer with an organization, as he was also the Treasurer for the weekly comic publication at his undergraduate college, though, that was a much smaller scale position than Treasurer of TUGSA.

Matt Ford (Director of Community Outreach): matt.ford@tugsa.org

Matt Ford is a second-year Ph.D. student and Teaching Assistant in the Department of Sociology. He holds a BA in English and Sociology from the University of Delaware and a MS in Criminal Justice from Saint Joseph’s University. He believes strongly in the importance of working with and learning from as diverse an array of individual voices and likeminded organizations as possible, both inside and outside the bounds of Temple’s campus. Furthermore, Matt feels the insights provided by an organized, active, and expansive membership are essential to TUGSA’s ongoing efforts at bettering the lives of our colleagues, neighbors, and allies.

Shrobona Karkun (Secretary): shrobona.karkun@tugsa.org

Shrobona is a 2nd year Ph.D. student and Teaching Assistant from the Department of Geography and Urban Studies (College of Liberal Arts).  Originally an architect from India, Shrobona moved to Philadelphia to pursue Masters in Urban Spatial Analytics from University of Pennsylvania. After working in a variety of design and urban research organizations for over five years in Philadelphia and Mumbai, a passion to study Indian Cities brought her to Temple University. As a secretary, she brings in her vast experience of coordinating and managing large teams and aims to represent international voices. You can find her in Gladfelter 327, appointments recommended.

STAFF

Heather Squire (Staff Organizer): staff@tugsa.org

Jared Dobkin (New Member Recruiter): jared.dobkin@tugsa.org

 

Translate »